X1/9

It Started Like This...

This is my first attempt to put some photos on the forum... Hope it works :rolleyes:

I drop in here often to see what everyone is up to and always find it's a great place for hints and info. I've been working on my track for quite a while now.. not a huge amount of progress because my time is limited. I'm keen to get started on scenery but every time I go out to make a start I just start doing laps. :o

So it began like this...

124_2447.jpg

and then this...

124_2461.jpg

and it now looks like this...

011.jpg

I'm pretty happy with the layout as it seems to flow pretty well. Nice and fast with a few tricky bits.

Looking really good. Good space to use. Was wondering if you could enlighten us with some more pictures of your winch mechanism and what sort of weight you are expecting to be raising!

Thanks for the comment. Very observant to pick up on the "bits of blue string" heading for the ceiling. I'm using a 12 volt 4WD winch to pull a steel draw bar that has 8 lines attached to it. Each line runs via a small pulley down to the table. The whole thing weighs about 250kg so each attaching point has had the ceiling/rafters reinforced above it. I spent the first few weeks of building my track in the ceiling!

Here you can see the winch and the draw bar..

001.jpg

and this is it up in the air. (note the safety chains - don't want to do a Sax!)

124_2473.jpg

Oh almost forgot. The "bits of blue string" are a yachting rope with some ridiculous breaking strain. I went to a local yacht supplies place to talk about getting some steel cables made up and he talked me out of it as this stuff is better! Not so many fittings needed - just good knots.

Wow! Looking good. I really should have thought about doing something like this with mine.

I would do it just for the 'first timers' - hey guys, check this *hit button* and down she comes, to gasps of amazement. (maybe add some water and dry ice for a nice smoke effect!)

Edited by trotty88