Sign in to follow this  
chilla

Chilla's New Track

My latest interpretation of Catalunya. I'm a dedicated rug racer and I've been doing variations of this track for about ten years. This one suits the space available and is adaptable to digital (I tried it yesterday). It also winds up and hides under the roof of the carport, an important consideration for a townhouse dweller.

It's made from an old table tennis table and an extra bit of 12mm chipboard. The two halves of the table tennis table are turned sideways to give a length (with the bit of extra chipboard) of 4 metres and a width of 1.35 metres. I used 70x40 structural pine for the frame.

It's hauled up by two cheap ($35) boat trailer winches. I've used chains to hold it up.

It works quite well. PM me if you want a detailed description of how it all works.

3142941577_c446c386cb_o.jpg

Cheers,

Charles

"all I want for my birthdy is another birthdy" Ian Dury...bless 'im.

That looks good chilla, best send a description of the winch system to skulldrifter....He's asking about that stuff.

"You Maniacs!.... You blew it up!.. Ah, damn you!...God damn you all to hell! "

I'd really like an underneath pic or two.... too please.

Appears you're using maybe 3 of those cheap workmate enches, hoisintingoff one, with an end edge sitting overhung , btweenthe thw wood surfaces, while the hidden half of the top forms a say150 x 500mm flat support for one table section.

I'm curious about longitudinal supports for the 3 tables. I presume you've just tacked on some 74x40 end to end with a couple of diagonal braces?

Edited by SlotsNZ

I'll get a shot of the underside when I haul it back up. It's quite simple, just two side rails and three cross pieces with the sheets screwed on. I was going to use single piece side rails but couldn't get the four metre long bits of wood home in the car. So they're made up of a pair of two metre lengths bolted to another two metre length.