Bobets20

Newbies: Ideal track size

I’m a newbie when it comes to slot cars on a grand scale (ie bigger setups than my late 80s Carrera Le Mans Porsche vs Jaguar).

i have table 2.7m X 1.8m. I’m looking at going with scalextric arc pro gt to begin with (when it becomes available) And then expanding from there.

The recommended space required is approx. 4m by 1.5m but I figured I can make it fit with extra bends etc.

Is 2.7 x 1.8 too small an area for:

a) 1:32 cars?

b) 9m+ of track?

sorry if these are dumb questions. I’ve seen plenty of track designs that suggest it is realistic, however, I’d rather ask some of you knowledgeable folks for your opinions. I understand that a 4m+ straight would be nice.

Thanks everyone!!!!

mick

Hi Mick,

The only real things you need to consider is reachability (access) for deslotted cars to grab them and put them back in the slot. I suggest you start with the suggested track designs in the manual and go from there, this is really the only way to do it.

Once you lay out and connect the track you get some sense of the real size and room requirements. You might find the corners will be limited and extremely tight as well with that available space that you have, regarding those measurements, are they 2700 (L) x 1800 (W)?

You might also wish to visit: https://slotracer.online/category/track-plans/ and check out possible track plans for more inspiration

Johnno

Edited by Johnno

There is no such thing as an ideal track size, track size is only limited by the amount of track you have, the amount of room you have, the amount of room you are allowed to use and whatever makes you happy as you will be the one doing the most laps on it.

Edited by mtpanorama

"I'm sure the universe is full of intelligent life, it's just too intelligent to come here."  Arthur C. Clarke

Social Media - The Internets sewer