The Policar (Slot.it) Track System

25 replies to this topic

#21 GRUNZ

Kart Driver

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 209 posts

Posted 03 September 2018 - 10:13 AM

To be honest with you, this idea to use constant radii in a bend is not that appealing.
The most basic rule in designing plastic layouts that have a nice flow (see threads on SF International) is to use different radii pieces to make each corner unique and the layout more interesting.
So having such geometry does not really add much. Variety in radii and angle degrees (45, 22.5, even an 11.25) would add more value.
Cheers
G

"I am an expert at the top of my field when mowing the lawn".

#22 SlotsNZ

Formula 1 Driver

• Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,455 posts

Posted 03 September 2018 - 02:34 PM

View PostGRUNZ, on 03 September 2018 - 10:13 AM, said:

To be honest with you, this idea to use constant radii in a bend is not that appealing.
The most basic rule in designing plastic layouts that have a nice flow (see threads on SF International) is to use different radii pieces to make each corner unique and the layout more interesting.
So having such geometry does not really add much. Variety in radii and angle degrees (45, 22.5, even an 11.25) would add more value.

I think you missed the point of this - the idea of being able to swap out different radii curves is so that overall, it is much easier to redesign a circuit while leaving the bulk of it in place - everything will match up.
Regardless of whether parts of the circuit, are, and may remain either constant or changing radii with an apex, others parts of the circuit can be made to easily join up without starting on the whole design from scratch trying to make them match up.

This doesn't limit design in any way, it just creates additional ease of design changes.