Jump to content


Rc To Run Startline Hardware


7 replies to this topic

#1 sticks

    Captian Slow

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Robertson

Posted 18 March 2018 - 12:08 PM

Hi Guys

Has anyone ran Start line hardware with Race Coordination software through a usb to com port adaptor
and if so which track set up did you use.
If anyone could help it would be appreciated.

Rodney

#2 kalbfellp

    Formula 1 Driver

  • Auslotters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,868 posts
  • Location:Hobart, Tasmania

Posted 18 March 2018 - 05:38 PM

USB to Com Port adapters are a real problem to use with most Slot Race programs.
I have tested a lot of adapters and only found a couple that would work OK and even those would not work reliably with all PCs.
I do not think RC will even communicate with the Startline Hardware.
Best of luck!

Edited by kalbfellp, 18 March 2018 - 05:40 PM.


#3 mtpanorama

    Slot Car Racer

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 589 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Melbourne

Posted 19 March 2018 - 12:53 PM

I have only seen RC work with a Startline box directly from a PC with a 25 pin printer port, LPT1 not a USB.

Even with that setup it wasn't perfect and had the occasional hiccup.
A long time ago we had Empires run by Emperors, Kingdoms ruled by Kings, now we have Countries...…..

#4 sticks

    Captian Slow

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 180 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Robertson

Posted 22 March 2018 - 07:07 AM

Thanks Guys for your information, its what I thought before I started this project
After a couple of hours of trying to make it work I put it into the too hard basket I will try again when I get an old lap top with a 25 pin port :blink:
Thanks again

#5 shadow_rusty

    "Team ABC" Team Leader

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,334 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canberra

Posted 22 March 2018 - 07:44 AM

That's going to be an old laptop then...
The last one I saw with a parallel port was a Pentium 3.

Funny thing is, I still have it, and it's still running fine for RC.

Edited by shadow_rusty, 22 March 2018 - 07:44 AM.

Posted Image
Stolen from SlotsNZ

Team ABC Team Leader
(Ambitious, But Crap)


Home Track Threads - Shadow's Semi-Permanent Layout & Another Rug Racer & Proud of It & Gymkhana Test Track
Car Collection Thread - My Car Collection
Charts / Diagrams - MJK Tyre Selector
/ Slot.it 4wd Gearing / PoliCar Rollout / [size=3]Rollout Chart Generator / SCX 4wd Rollout / Track Wiring with Brake on Track Call

#6 SlotsNZ

    Formula 1 Driver

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,026 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:itinerante intermitente

Posted 20 February 2020 - 09:06 AM

Does anyone know if the guy behind Startline is still about?
The website was created years ago, but never updated. www.startline.net.au

Wondering if I should delete reference to it from my update on Race Management systems

That wasn't Brett (espsix) was it?
Slots addict 1st class * Classic quote for 2019 "whaa whaa whoo, where is I " * My Track Oakland Raceway V2 | * | Club Website

#7 Yngwie

    V8 Supercar Driver

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 2,663 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Epping

Posted 20 February 2020 - 09:33 AM

Hi Mark

I believe it was aastes on this forum. Hasnt been around in a while

#8 SlotsNZ

    Formula 1 Driver

  • Super Moderator
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,026 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:itinerante intermitente

Posted 20 February 2020 - 09:50 AM

Ah that's right. I remember now Cheers John
I have taken it out of the document update I have done.

Need to update the RMS section on the forum.
Slots addict 1st class * Classic quote for 2019 "whaa whaa whoo, where is I " * My Track Oakland Raceway V2 | * | Club Website





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users