Sign in to follow this  
s13

New Set Decisions

So i have been using 30 year old hand me down track for a few years now and i think its time to actually buy some new track.

thinking about splurging and getting the Scalextric digital gear. most likely the platinum set.

been doing a bit of reading and have seen users have a few problems over time would you still recommend it?

also recently it looks like scalextric is bringing out a new "carbon" set which will have wireless controllers and some smart device integration. anybody seen any reviews on this? ive only be able to see pictures of the boxes.

PK

I don't think the set with wireless controllers and bluetooth tablet integration will be out for a while yet.

Computers. They'll never catch on.

_AM_sig_zps00cdfd1a.jpg

Tiny Tyers Targa - The build saga continues - Aging wood - A recipe for staining wood - Don't take a fence - Step by step paling fence - An old shed for my new cars - Wooden garage under construction

The Carbon set will not be released in Australia until probably next year. It will be possible to change the 6 car powerbase on the Platinum set over to an RCS (or whatever Scalextric call the tablet/phone controlled wireless thing today) upon its release.

I've had the Scaley 6 car Advanced Powerbase (APB) for some time now and don't really have any problems with it. With the Platinum set you will get nearly everything you need at quite a good cost (prices vary dramatically around the planet). I think most people that had problems didn't quite take the time to learn the functions of the APB, didn't purchase or borrow an aftermarket cable to upgrade the APB's firmware or pretty much gave up when they had an issue. Everything you need to know about Scalextric's 6 car APB can be found on the net or can be found on forums.