Running Power Switches Between Two Tracks

BMR

I am no electrician , and Im stuck on what switches to buy that will do the job of swapping power , lights etc between two tracks

I have drawn this up below - its no great electrical drawing but I hope it helps to see what Im getting at .

The problem is the 6 green switches that will take all the power to the lanes , they need to handle at least 15 volts and 40 amps each while all the lanes are in use

Once the power is at the drivers stations there are a few extra blue switches in place but they will only be carrying the power for one car at a time or one light or one powered tyre buffing pad or one light that indicates the buff pad is on or track street lights - they are already in place and operate no worries .

Its the 6 green switches Im concerned about - they are operating the power from the supplies and the idea is one console near the computer will have 2 green switches to cut power possibly between race heats , the other 4 green switches are to turn it all off and on when I swap from one track to the other .

I run two power supplies so I can reduce power to some lanes if cars with more power are running against cars with less power ( old school 1/24th cars vs new builds ) or if kids are on the track and I want to reduce the power they get to their cars . Those blue switches are at the drivers stations already , altering the power is a seperate issue , thats done at the power supply itself basically set to whatever voltage is needed in the pic its supply 1 -10v and power supply 2 -12v

Anyone got some knowledge in this area ? Will household light switches do the job ? same pic twice - one may open bigger / maybe clearer ?

I have had quite a few conflicting answers about the ideal switches for the job so Im ready for some more ideas before I just go ahead and wire it up an find out the hard way $$$ what wont work

Twotracksrunningdualpowerandlightsetcwirediagram.png

Edited by BMR