Jump to content


Duke Raceway


16 replies to this topic

#1 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 13 October 2010 - 08:23 AM

This is a rough rough idea that I am going with for now. Would love opinions (Camber!?) as I have never ran on or seen a digital track before. Going for a mostly best line with either a late braking added lane section or pits. Tried to do pits on my current analog but never got flippers so dunno how fun it is.

Old track is for sale too

top is 3m long (just noticed you can't read it)

Posted Image

Edited by gzminiz, 13 October 2010 - 08:24 AM.


#2 MOPARDEVIL

    Mopar or No Car

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,091 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Central Coast

Posted 13 October 2010 - 08:56 AM

TThat looks good. You may be able to get a few more interesting corners if you do a crossover(figure 8 type track). The dimensions you have to work with are basically the same as I have to work with my new track. Have a look at my new track in the NSW section, Hemi speedway 2 to see what I did with the similar space to give you another idea
Thanks
Greg

#3 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 13 October 2010 - 09:04 AM

I wasn't going to do a crossover as it is digital so doesn't need equal lanes, makes for easier construction and will build in elevation changes where i can (flippers must be flat and not bowing)

#4 Camber

    Kart Driver

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 737 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Wollongong, NSW

Posted 13 October 2010 - 10:37 PM

Nice layout. I particularly like the bottom sweeper that tightens up (c/wise), I would consider doing something similar with the big sweeper to the left. On the 3m top straight, if you had the straight lane changer at the end of the straight (c/wise) going to the outside lane, it give options to avoid collisions with cars exiting the pitlane.

I like flat digital tracks, making it is much easier and you have good visibility especially when changing lanes, it's busy racing.

Seriously consider going bi-directional which is supported with Scorpius, costs more for electronics, flippers etc, but you get two tracks in one, especially if it is asymetrical. Even if you cant afford it, you can install the necessary flippers and buy the electronics later.

Looking good :)

- Cam
Hoo Roo


#5 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 14 October 2010 - 06:59 AM

It definately will be bi directional and there is a lane change both directions on either end of the straight (for avoiding pit collisions) though I was considering making the straight three lanes for a little extra passing.

Took a look at your track camber and I like the chicane that has a straight through lane change, I might smothen the chicane up to get something similar.

I was thinking about making the radius in the upper left tightening up to a tight (almost inside turn r0? maybe) to lengthen the straight. figured it would also change the dynamic of the track when u switch directions, one you power out of it and the other hard on the brakes into it.

just a thought, used UR3 to "design" so now i just need to properly draw it up.

#6 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 13 November 2010 - 09:28 PM

did a little work in google sketch up, not sure what i need todo to turn it into a cad file that can be used. I have had a discussion with the MOFW and have been denied funds for a scorpius so back to analog.

Posted Image

#7 dangermouse

    Jedi Master

  • Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,331 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:I am where I am (Brisbane)

Posted 13 November 2010 - 10:31 PM

Nice job on the drawing - I think you can export sketchup files to Autocad format files see if you can export to 2D graphic under the file menu

cheers
DM

#8 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 14 November 2010 - 08:24 AM

ok, torn between the track above and this one. Basically the same but a little tighter stuff on the second one. not many options for L shaped layout
Posted Image

opinions, modifications?

Edited by gzminiz, 14 November 2010 - 08:27 AM.


#9 Rob

    V8 Fujitsu Series Driver

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,629 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mooroolbark Vic

Posted 14 November 2010 - 08:36 AM

Hey Eric, if you mean you want to use this for CNC routing most places will accept a DXF file.

Is that inner radius of the "S" a line transitioning between two curves?
Regards
Rob

#10 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 14 November 2010 - 08:38 AM

actually, one more,

Posted Image

#11 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 14 November 2010 - 08:43 AM

not sure what you mean rob, i think you are talking about the tightest curve on the track and zoomed in it is fine, i think it looks offset in the image but it isn't. each curve matches as smooth as i could get, used tangents to make them mate up nicely.

the sweeper and into and through the S is 4 different arcs for changing radius

edit: and yes, want to use for a CNC. Sucks only way to export to dxf is with the pro version... Do the lines need depth or is that programmed directly on the machine

Edited by gzminiz, 14 November 2010 - 08:44 AM.


#12 Eno the Wonderdog

    Woof Woof and erm.. Bark

  • Auslotters
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,817 posts
  • Gender:Male

Posted 14 November 2010 - 05:21 PM

I like the one you posted at 9.33.. looks more organic.

Did you know Pierre at Mobile has bought himself a CNC router?? :aussie:
Captain's log: We are enroute to some planet whose name I cannot pronounce to do something really complicated that I don't understand.

#13 Rob

    V8 Fujitsu Series Driver

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,629 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Mooroolbark Vic

Posted 14 November 2010 - 05:32 PM

View Postgzminiz, on Nov 14 2010, 08:52 AM, said:

not sure what you mean rob, i think you are talking about the tightest curve on the track and zoomed in it is fine, i think it looks offset in the image but it isn't. each curve matches as smooth as i could get, used tangents to make them mate up nicely.

the sweeper and into and through the S is 4 different arcs for changing radius

edit: and yes, want to use for a CNC. Sucks only way to export to dxf is with the pro version... Do the lines need depth or is that programmed directly on the machine

Beauty of 2D Eric, just use colour to define your line work ie green for the lanes and yellow for the edges and tell your CNC guy to cut the green to a depth of 8mm (or what ever you decide) and the yellow to full depth. I normally draw the board and place the sections on the board (nesting) so the CNC guy doesnt have to think to hard and you hopefully minimise the number of boards needed.
Regards
Rob

#14 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 14 November 2010 - 05:33 PM

Yes sir, I have known for quite awhile now (no i was not the one who let that cat out of the bag as indicated on his web page) :-) He will be doing my track, hopefully I will be the test dummy so I get mine first :-)

I think I am going with the 9:33 one too. No to get it converted to something he can use. Also need to figure out how people sliced up their cad drawings for each section.

Going to be ferrodor + braid.

Last call on my track, going to take her apart this weekend.

#15 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 22 November 2010 - 06:57 PM

ok, I sliced it up but I can't "stretch" the radius (bottom one) to create banking now can I change line colors. Google sketch up is beyond me... I can make surfaces colored....

3m tall by 2.4m wide. Has a almost squeeze at the tight turn. Lane spacing is 90mm and the squeeze is 70mm which will fit most 1:32 cars side by side but tail can't be wagging
All turns have 200mm on the outside and the inside is 100mm minimum.

Posted Image

now if anyone cares here is the sketchup file: Duke Raceway Sketchup

Edited by gzminiz, 22 November 2010 - 07:14 PM.


#16 gzminiz

    Newb slotter

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 909 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Berwick

Posted 28 December 2010 - 06:20 PM

After looking at mohawk I came up with one more design (so so sorry shodan)

Both are the same dimensions

unsliced at all
Posted Image

or

This one is sliced up like it would be cut on a cnc.
Posted Image

opinions?

Edited by gzminiz, 28 December 2010 - 06:22 PM.


#17 Mohawkk

    prettiest rally car 2011-12

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 1,683 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Merrylands, Sydney

Posted 28 December 2010 - 06:35 PM

top one looks really good, the flow looks pretty smooth
Love,
Kai Posted Image





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users