Braid Or Tape

Lee

Well I'm nearly ready to rout, but after reading through posts and other forums, I'm not sure wether Braid or tape is the way to go!

I've decided to build a small test track first, then attempt something bigger.

Which is the best way to go? Tape or Braid.

TIA

Lee

I would go with braid if you can afford it. It doesn't seem to be affected by temperature change like tape can and it will last alot longer.

I'm no expert but if I build a routed track then I will be using braid.

Dave

"I spent most of my money on beer, women and slot cars. The rest I just wasted."

Hi Lee

I have been reserching routed track building for about a year now and were to use copper tape or braid. The copper tape I think does not sit flat on corners and will lift in very hot day if your track is in a garge like my is, for me its copper braid at $1.16 plus tax a meter will do me. I have just finish a test track which will be my skid oval to test differant paint sufaces and tires before I start my new four lane track which will be around 24 meter lane lenght.

skidpan01.jpg

Regards Bo

Hi Dave

I got the braid from Hartland Cables 18-20 railway rd Meadowbank NSW Ph 029807 6155 and speak to Paul ot terry, very heplful guys. The part number for the braid I have used is HBB005 it is 4.70MM wide and will handle 20Amps each.

Regards Bo

Hi Guys about three months ago i finished a routed three lane track,photos in members tracks section,i used copper tape because all the stuff i saw on the net said it was great and some that i spoke to said the same.

NEVER again down here in Croweater Country and under a carport the weather affects it too much so much so that i have not used my track for nearly a month and a half,i am about to sell my track and build one from Artin track as i have found that just as good to drive on.